The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Posted , 6 users are following.

Disappeared for a couple of days. Here's the skinny: (TKR December 16, 2016 + Complicatuons: Femoral nerve damage and quad palsy; IT band syndrome)

The Good (and magnificent!)🌟

I took 5-7 steps on my own! Therapist gave permission to try at home with cane "as much as I can handle", which is not a lot as my quad is still very weak. But, I can do it!!! So excited.

The Bad:🌚😱

I got a tooth abscess literally overnight. No nagging pain. Just a feeling like I have a popcorn skin stuck between the gum and the tooth. From zero to hellish pain and chipmunk face no time flat. Visit to the dentist- tried to numb me but it didn't work. Sorry, we cannot do anything until the infection is under control.

4 Days of sheer hell ensued. Long story short pharmacist typed wrong instructions on antibiotics and I was only taking half the dosage every 6 hours. No amount of painkiller (narcotic too) helped. On Sunday I knew that if I didn't lance it I would go crazy with pain. It wasn't pretty...almost passed out... But RELIEF. Still have low level pain and see oral surgeon on Wednesday. The pain was so bad I wasn't even worried about the infection going to my knee.

The Ugly😖🦂

I lost bend. My Pt didn't want to measure yesterday but says he can see and feel it. 3 Days of still doing home excercises while the tooth thing happened (oh and did I mention I got one of my migraines from lack of sleeping) but didn't get much out of bed. You gotta keep that knee moving!

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

After what my wife and I have been through these past eight years, we have seriously considered doing something "Old Testament" that you may also want to think about.

Go down to the local courthouse and have your family name changed to "The Jobs".  After all, what else can The Big Guy throw at you?  Leprosy?  Boils?  Frogs?  

Seriously...

• Posted