Thyroid Results.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, I am new to all this and was hoping someone could help. I had my bloods taken a few weeks ago and was told to have a re test in 3 months. I feel as if I've had symptoms of Hypo for several years.  Tiredness, depression, weight gain, skin peeling, brain fog, sinus pressure etc. 

This morning I saw my doctor because of this pressure/tightening pain in my throat. I feel as if someone has their hand wrapped around it and gently squeezing.

She then suggested I started on a low dose of Levothyroxine (25mg) I'm just a bit apprehensive about taking them.  As she said that taking this medication could cause it to go the other way, where I could experience palpitations etc.  (There is a lot of heart disease in my family)

My results are .... Thyroxine 12.4 which she said is normal ... Thyroid Stimulating Hormone is 5.43 and she also said my Thyroid Antibodies are normal.

Do you think these levels and my symptoms warrant this medication?

Any advice will be appreciated  Thank you.

2 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Hi my levels were very similar and I was put on meds, helped somewhat with energy, but I'm still in bed for 9pm, and my brain fog is better but I still know I'm depressed. I am in middle of adjusting dosage but don't think I'd be as well if I hadn't started the Levo. I'd start it but be aware it will take about 6 weeks to see results. Hang in There.

• Posted

Hi Julie

Thank you for your reply.  How long have you been taking Levothyroxine and what dosage?

Cath smile

• Posted

Hi cath,