Tips for concentration?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hey! Im a 20 year old student and I have an exam in the morning, ive had other exams this year and struggled quite a bit. Being in enviornments where I can't leave is a massive deal for me for some reason and it triggers all my anxiety things. I usually calm down after a while but I lose valuable time that I could be writing. Any tips for calming yourself down quickly? I try to concentrate on my breath but it is difficult when you feel very nauseous. Cheers

1 like, 10 replies

Report / Delete

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi jamie, cant think of anything but talking about it will help. You recognise anxiety for what it is. You're halfway there. Good luck, try to ignore it, you know it will pass.good luck.
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

Hi Jamie,

I have the same problem as yourself and I also have an exam tomorrow! Can you start jotting down things as soon as you get in there? Just an outline even so that you'll know where to go when the official exam starts. It's not cheating since it stills come out of your head and means you have a little time to panic before starting the real thing. 

Can you get a seat right by the door? You CAN always leave if you need to. Don't ever worry about that. 

If you have any more years in education left, try and get yourself into the support services in your school/college/uni. This is what I did and they provide a separate room for people with anxiety or any mental health problems. You also get more time this way, about 10 mins per hour so a 3 hour exam becomes a 3 hr 30 mins exam. 

Good luck tomorrow and remember you CAN LEAVE. No one can physically 

Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted