TKR 2 weeks ago. Struggling with physio

Posted , 17 users are following.

Hi..this is my first time on here.  I had a TKR two weeks ago and saw my physio 6 days ago and surgeon 4 days ago and they both said I need to do more more more physio. I have to do 10-20 minutes every hour or so!  I am in so much pain when I do them. I am struggling to straighten my leg and my bend is about 80%. They couldn't understand why I was using crutches after a week (I should be using a stick!)  They have frightened me into thinking I won't get better if I don't exercise as they say. I am quite young to have had this op, is this why they are harsh with me?  Can anybody recommend some bending exercises that are not as painful. Thank you

2 likes, 163 replies

163 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Well I don't see anything wrong with using the crutches until you feel more confident and have a better bend. From all the posts on here it seems obvious that if you are in pain you can't exercise properly, therefore it is vital that you get good pain meds sorted out. It is you surgeons responsibility to have done this in the first place. Also, where I live they don't let you out of hospital until you have a 90 bend so don't be so hard on yourself. You are also possibly feeling the depression that most of us went through the first few weeks which is normal but doesn't help. I don't think age has much to do with it. We are all different and you will get there.
    • Posted

hi, thank you for your reply. Nobody ever told me it would be so painful or I would feel 'down' about it so it has come as a bit of a shock. They said I could go home after two nights but I chose to stay another (I have a five year old son and didn't want him to see me in so much pain) I will keep trying and not expect too much after such a short time....
    • Posted