TKR. I've seen countless expressions of the knee being heavy...etc

Posted , 15 users are following.

It kind of ocurred to me the other day, I've seen lots of comments about the knee being 'heavy' and like concrete, and hard, and lots of other adjectives.

Maybe it's because that's exactly what it is...HEAVY....

Prior to my operation, the sister on the ward explained everything and had an example of the new joint (exactly as would be used to replace my knee)....Which she gave me to have a good look at and sort of 'play' with for a few minutes....I remember thinking at the time..."Jeeees...that's one hell of a lump of metal"...And it was...it was very heavy!

Now I'm no expert on the structure of bones, but I'm pretty sure the bones in our body are fairly light structures, although 'generally' incredibly strong, and it seems to me that the knee replacements are nothing like as light.

I'm wondering if that's why most contributors to this forum refer to their knee as feeling 'heavy'...etc.....Maybe that's because that's exactly what the new knee is...HEAVY!!!!

Any thoughts?

0 likes, 90 replies

90 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

The only part of this surgery I am looking forward to (having TKR on the 28th) the weight loss.  Will weigh myself the night before I go in, and hopefully will feel well enough to weigh myself as soon as I am up on the ward, that way I may be able to report back the difference in the weight of metal as apposed to bone!  Still dreading the aftermarth of the surgery.eek
    • Posted

Hahahaha....Maybe it's me, but I do sometimes have some 'random' thoughts.  I was actually going to ask the surgeon if I could keep the parts of bone they cut out....I have no idea why....Just a random thought I had.....I suppose it was loosley related to having 'bits' of me taken away, and the finality of it, and not being able to get them back...Is that weird?...Actually yeah.  It probably is.