Total knee replacement

Posted , 13 users are following.

I had a total knee replacement 3 months ago , can't get my bend past 97 , so frustrating , in the morning my knee is very thight in the morning.

I still have 2 Physio sessions a week and hydrotherapy 4 to 5 days a week, also exercise at home at least once a day. I'm starting to feel overwhelmed my life is consumed by all of the exercises!!!

Still not at work, I am a nurse and I don't think I have the speed to go back to a busy surgical ward, my knee gets " tired" after walking for s couple of hours.

I need to go back as no work no pay.

im trying SO hard to remain strong and positive but it's hard .

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Maria I'm in a very similar situation. My TKR was 5 wks ago and i can barely do 90°

The reason is because going into surgery my knee was soo bad i had only 95° for all these years...so they say scar tissue has built up making it very diffecult to rehab the knew knee past that.

A procedure called a "manipulation" may be necessary.

As for what that is...I'll let b the rest of this group tell you.

I'm soo depressed and frustrated about myn situation i don't have much faith to fill you with.

But i DO get it...i know exactly what you're going through!

• Posted

Hi David

That's why this sites are good 😄

The manipulation is usually done before the3 months mark, b however there are risks involved such as the surgeon breaking the tibula during manipulation.

Some days I just want to give up but then I pick my self up and keep exercising.

Wishing you a speedy recovery

Maria

• Posted

Dear Maria

I am so sorry, you are obviously working so hard at rehab, yet remain frustrated. I am at just over 3 weeks post-op, so can't compare experiences, but just wanted to lend my support.

Also I wondered whether you might be able to return to work on a different ward, or in a day unit? Also, I've always wondered how nurses get to be practice nurses in GP surgeries?