Total knee replacement

Posted , 13 users are following.

I had a total knee replacement 3 months ago , can't get my bend past 97 , so frustrating , in the morning my knee is very thight in the morning.

I still have 2 Physio sessions a week and hydrotherapy 4 to 5 days a week, also exercise at home at least once a day. I'm starting to feel overwhelmed my life is consumed by all of the exercises!!!

Still not at work, I am a nurse and I don't think I have the speed to go back to a busy surgical ward, my knee gets " tired" after walking for s couple of hours.

I need to go back as no work no pay.

im trying SO hard to remain strong and positive but it's hard .

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Maria I'm 8 weeks post op and work expected me back at 6 weeks! I am a teaching assistant but my physio and consultant said no at least 12 weeks as you have had your leg broken in two places and joined back together along with a lot of banging, hammering etc, mucscles pulled and stretched. This all has to heal. You like me wil be on your feet all day (I work 8 1/2 hours a day) and have to ensure we are physically as well as mentally healed.

My knee would be very tight in morning if I have overdone it the day before. I am using stati bike 20 mins, walking 20-25 mins and doing my physio exercises 2-3 times a day.

Be positive, you will get there...we all will and all ill recover at a different rate.

Take care xx

• Posted

Unfortunately not, I found it good but I only got 6 sessions. I had my review and consultant was extremely happy and told me to just keep doing what i was doing, bike walking and exercises physio gave me. He told me build up walking and try go swimming too. I still get really tired as sleep is still hard but getting there. Next goal back to work!!! But will have build up to that one. X
    • Posted