unable to identify source of infection after TKR

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all,

Back in here to whinge.

I had my TKR 12 months ago, mobility was ok bending was 100 , pain always there 4/10 some swelling. It overall happy

At 7 months I got sick with extreme pain and fever I associated it to the knee and went straight to the ED they aspirated the knee , I had to go to OT twice for clean up and synevectomyvwithnpoly exchange.They took 10 samples but nothing grew I never had fever again however my infection markers were extremely high, so it was decided by the infectious disease Dr that I would be treated for MRSA ( which i knew I had as I'm a nurse) home with PICC line for 6 weeks the. On oral antibiotics for 6 months , my infection markers came down , never normal, now it's going up again . I decided to stop antibiotics as my liver results were out as well!!

Saw Infectious Dr last week who reviewed my ultrasound that is showing fluid collection, I didn't tell her about stopping treatment just want to see the next blood result first .

I can walk , my bend went from 125 to 105 maybe due to fluid .

I still get swelling , stairs gives me a lit of pain especially going up.

Anyone has been trough a similar situation or has any advice? I feel that this is controlling my life , I love travelling and now I'm scared just in case I get sick in a foreign country

Thanks

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Oh my gosh. You poor thing!! I'm only 4 weeks post bilateral knee replacement and I pray this doesn't happen to me. You seem to have such a good attitude. I pray you get over this. Vent or whine all you want. We're here for you.

• Posted