Unofficial Poll- Symfony IOL

Posted , 15 users are following.

Members who have Symfony IOL-Would you make the same choice again?

Y or N

Can add main reasons for your vote. 

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes.  My daytime vision is very good. Have not needed glasses since surgery.  I do have the night vision issue of seeing the concentric circles around certain light sources. If I drove for a living or had a hobby that required good night vision I would not have chosen these lenses.  I will say that if my vision wasn’t this good - I would not be satisfied with the trade-off.

One thing to keep in mind- exchanges are rare so very difficult to be 100% certain that one wouldn’t be equally happy with another lens.  

• Posted

Absolutely Not. 

I have poor near vision, not perfect distance vision and glares and concentric circles. I know many, many people whose pre surgery vision was worse than mine who got monofocal lenses and have better distance, similar or better near vision and no other problem. I almost got an exchange but decided not to, because it’s a surgery and not as simple as original surgery and results in the worst case could be worse. 

• Posted

probably.... My viewpoint is severely colored by the fact that I had a retina detachment in left eye 5 months after cataract surgery.... And then 2 detachments in right eye 11 months after the cataract surgery in that eye. I feel like my near vision is not as good after the vitrectomy surgeries in each eye. I do see the concentric circles at times, but they are not too bad. I just feel a bit like I paid for premium lenses, and then had RDs, so then had even more medical bills. So if I had known, I might not have paid for them.
    • Posted

So sorry to hear that.  Were the RDs related to cataract surgery?   Did surgeon know why that happened?
    • Posted