Upcoming TKR

Posted , 21 users are following.

I've been battling right knee pain for several years. I'm finally going to get TKR done on Jan 9th. I was feeling optimistic until reading some of the posts. Am I going to regret this? 

0 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Ken!

I had both knees replaced last year ( June and October). For me it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Without the surgeries I probably would be in a wheelchair or using a scooter. My pain WAS that bad.

Now I can shovel our whole driveway, rake leaves for hours, stand at rallies or shop all day. Sure, my OTHER body parts that suffer from arthritis still cause me pain, but MY KNEES are GOOD!🙌😊😁🙌

One of the best things is SLEEPING for hours without being awakened by throbbing knee pain. I endured five years of intense pain that monopolized my entire life. Now I hardly even THINK of my knees!

Yes, there is a long recovery, but you will be standing the day of surgery and walking a bit the next morning. Physical therapy will show you exactly what to do to literally get back on your feet and back to a new GREAT normal.

You will need to be patient because you will have some "two steps ahead, one step back" days. Not to worry; strength returns.

Three months after my first TKR I scheduled my other knee. Reason? My NEW KNEE was doing so well that my OLD KNEE was holding me back!

You will do fine! Follow the doctor's advice, work hard at Physical therapy, and you will feel like a new person with your new knee or knees!

Come here often. We "get" it because we have been right where you are. Each person is different, but as others have said, if your knees are really bad, without intervention like replacement, your knees WILL continue to worsen.

I wish you all the best for your surgery! Please let us know how things go for you!😊

• Posted

Well done Cheryl

Happy Christmas 🎄🎄🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾💃🏼💃🏼 X

Rob

• Posted