What do we expect from life and ADs

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello - I joined this forum as I suffer fro MDD and a bit of SAD, normally triggered by life events and having a 'fragile' personality. I primarily want to share my experiences to help, bearing in mind that I am not a professional (sometimes not a bad thing).

I've criticised the drugs available and the lack of a simple but effective process to help people come out of bad depression using drugs, advice, life changes and CBT - all in a simple format that a severely depressed person can manage. Some of the posts simply highlight the lack of support for someone put on a drug for the first time.

Enough said criticising the current system. GPs, in particular, have a hard job and the fact they have a list of pills they try one at a time is not altogether wrong. Change needs to happen from higher above. My experience of GPs is that they are willing to see you frequently and suggest different drugs. Unless you believe you have a particular problem do not waste your money going private. I was on Valdoxan which I believe will be a thing of the past fairly soon.