What should I do for my prostate obstruction and bladder retention problems?

Posted , 17 users are following.

I’m trying to decide what, if anything, to do for my urinary retention and prostate problems.  I’ve been self-catheterizing 4 times a day for the last 10 months after an ultrasound at my Urologist’s office identified urinary retention, which seems to be due to prostate obstruction.  The post is a little lengthy, but I’ve had a lot going on lately.

My Urologist wants to remove my prostate for the obstruction and distended bladder problems, but I have a hard time accepting there aren’t better, less radical options.  He said he would possibly consider urolift but didn’t recommend it, and there is also a local urologist who is supposedly one of the leading experts with the procedure I’m considering contacting.  I don’t think anywhere nearby does PAE that I’m aware of (I live in Utah), and the same with FLA.  I’m 54 and my situation is a little unique in that I’ve also been on Active Surveillance (AS) for prostate cancer for the past 8 years after my PSA doubled during a yearly physical.  My Urologist considers everything based on the possibility of having to have the prostate removed one day due to cancer, which is why he doesn’t recommend a TURP.  But one of the reasons I’m doing AS is to avoid a radical prostatectomy for as long as possible, maybe forever, and my last two biopsies have been negative (as part of doing AS I’ve also embraced an anti-cancer diet and lifestyle).  I’ve had six total biopsies now, which I sometimes wonder is part of my prostate and retention problems, and there has never been more than one positive core or Gleason score more than 6.