When to have op

Posted , 14 users are following.

i am new to this page. I am 55 and have lost lot of movement in my hip. X-ray shows nothing to inject into. So op is next option. I walk with a limp 75 per cent of the time (friends tell me) pain level not too bad. The biggest prob is shoes and socks, unable to do these unaided! Driving manual car after a walk, getting discomfort, after 6000 step walk aching. I am wondering if I should just carry on until really painful, or have done. I feel relatively young to be needing this I feel. My excercise levels have decreased so gaining bit extra weight too. Still swim, walking etc. So my question is do I wait for real pain, or get done before while bit fitter? 

1 like, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I had mine late last year.. Doing well 6 months later. I do not regret it for a minute!
  • Posted

Things can quickly deteriorate from the stage you are at now to being really horrible and if you are in the UK there is the probable wait for the op to be scheduled.

Get as much advice as posssible and needless to say talk to the orthopaedic team

• Posted

Sharon I think you can have a pain free and better quality of life. Many hippies here have had some type of hesitation making the decision to go foreword with THR surgery. After we have had the surgery and time to heal we always wonder why we hesitated. Life is so much improved after hip replacement.

Just a little info. Last year, more than 65,000 hip replacements were performed on the NHS and more than 30,000 in private hospitals. After 12 days, Most improve and require only one crutch and none at all after three weeks. Pain is always controlled by medication,

After 12 days on average most THR patients only one crutch and none at all after three weeks. Physio therapy helps us get strong again and back on our feet.