Withdrawal from mirtazapine

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi,

I took mirtazapine 15mg for about 5 weeks, then decided to stop as the tiredness that came with it was unbearable and I couldn't function. I am a teacher and mornings were very difficult, including the drive to school. I decided to stop cold turkey as I thought I had not taken the drugs for too long. I have had some very tough time since. One panic attack, nausea, extreme tiredness, dizziness, vision being weird. I have been given prozac but haven't started it as I prefer to detox first. It has now been 10 days and I am worrying about going back to work feeling like this. I seem to get all sort of side effects and was on Sertraline before Mirtazapine. That didn't work either. Has anyone got a similar experience? I have read some posts but none with same dosage or length of treatment.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

You should have tapered it by breaking them in half and gradually substituting the half tablet over 3-4 weeks, then skipping on alternate days until down to zero. no matter from experiance 15 is a very low dose anyway, perhaps try 7.5 for a week or two then taper off over another 2 weeks, believe me coming off mirtazapine is a lot eaaier than coming off benzodiazapines like lorazepam.
  • Posted

I can't say I was in the exact same boat as you but I was on 15mg for 6 months, Fudgeybear1 was on it for a couple of months and then went cold turkey so maybe they can offer more input. I went through very similar symptoms to you so I expect the withdrawal process will be similar.

It took me roughly a month before I started to feel better and could start to work again but I definitely recommend taking Omega 3 to speed up the process. It could be a long road but don't give up, you will feel better.

• Posted

Thanks for your comment, I guess I'll need to be patient and see what happens.
  • Posted