Work Related Stress and Depression

Posted , 5 users are following.

To cut a long story short I 'burnt out' a week before Christmas. I was already on antidepressants and these have not been increased. GP very supportive but wants to see work putting things in place to help me. I'm an experienced teacher but suddenly (well the warning signs were there but I trudged on) after a bullying incident from a parent I crashed. Completely. So much so I couldn't move physically for 24 hours. Still signed off and trying to deal with one task a day but I'm really struggling. I have had 2 physical relapses since. Constant state of anxiety, Sleepless nights. Headaches, constant back pain. From doing a job that requires so much juggling I just cannot face more than one or two domestic tasks a day.. Decision making virtually impossible. I have managed a walk but terrified of public places really. How long will it take to recover from this?

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hey there...the same thing happened to me last June...everything you described rings so true with me...i was completely burnt out and like you I found it so hard to cope with everyday life afterwards....all I can say is please know it does get better...i really was a mess for a few months but it did gradually improve and by November I was back at work and doing much better...it takes time for your body and mind to heal so don't put any pressure on yourself to go back until your better xxx

• Posted