Working with anxiety

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I've had anxiety for 4 yrs since I had a terrible experience having my daughter which has ended up with me being left with a huge hernia,I suffer with food phobias and medication phobias as well as regular panic attacks,because of my phobia I can't take medications for anxiety or depression , as I'm a single parent on benefits when the child reaches 5 I'll be forced out to work,I really don't know how I'm going to cope, apart from not being able to stand ,sit for long periods of time,can't lift and look like a freak because of my hernia size I'm a nervous wreck,really don't know what to do,has anyone got any advice?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sharon, I had it and the same like you had to go to work as a single Mum, first you need to get rid of this fear, start to walk more , plenty of fresh air, plus you can find a job like supervisor at school for example , 3-4 hours per day, while your child is in school. Trust me you are not alone . X
  • Posted

I too have medication phobias and a fair few food phobias. I suffer terrible sciatica pain and never take anything. Therapy is my drug of choice, no side effects!
  • Posted

Hi thanks for my replies,I've been waiting for therapy for 3 yrs ,my doctor isn't helpful because I won't except the medications.before I had my daughter I had 2 jobs,now I have a panic attack just thinking about it,I wish I could walk around more Diana but because of my hernia I can only walk for about 10 mins n then I have to sit down for 20 mins,same with standing,I feel so useless 
    • Posted

I thought hernia can be treated by standard surgery, did you get any advice about it, my friend had it, it was even visible, swelling , and surgery helped her. And of course you are having anxiety because of it, worrying . Please keep in touch I only hope you get better soon x
  • Posted