Worried and new to this disease.

Posted , 3 users are following.

4 weeks ago admitted to hospital and had a diagnosis of diverticulitis. Was on intravenous antibiotics and oral ones once home for 2 weeks. Was starting feel beter, but with persistant lower back dull ache, which eventually eased. Then 4 days ago started to feel sore in lower stomach, not sharp spasms pains. Still eating, still going to toilet regularly. I have no temperature. Uncomfortable to walk around too much znd bd on my feet too much. Booked in for a colonospy in 5 weeks. Surgeon has given my hardly any info, told me to eat what i liked, tho i have been a fare careful not too much fat or spicy food. Do i just put up with pain and hope it goes away, or shoould i be concerned and go to hospital, my doctor (who i am sure has just left to practice up north) or surgeon. Any adviced would be appreciated.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Karen sorry you are still suffering Im fairly new to this disease myself having been diagnosed by way of colonoscopy in April. I do know that it can take months and months after a flare to recover completely it took me 5 months to get over mine and I wasn't hospitalised or given antibiotics. I have changed my diet and now just eat little and often which has helped me. This is a brilliant forum and you will be given lots of good advice I know I wouldn't have survived the stress of this awful disease without this site.

• Posted

Thank you for your reply, glad i have found some where i can get some information that isn't contradicting itself. Think a life changing diet is in order, tho have always eaten fairly well and follow the 5:2, not for weight loss, but healthy living. Seens like a lot of trial and error.

• Posted