2 Slipped discs again after 3 operations, needing a little advice with how to deal with it?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi!

I’ve never done anything like this before but I am really struggling to cope at the minute so I apologise if I’m ranting.

A little about me...

I’m only 23 and have had 3 operations due to slipping the same discs 3 times. I have had 3 microdiscectomys which have always worked but after 2 years the same discs slip again.

I have always been over weight but last year lost 5 and a half stone, was very active going to the gym and bike rides etc, got to a healthy weight and was trying my best to get my back strong to prevent it from happening again.

Unfortunately for no particular reason my discs slipped again at the beginning of this year, causing agonising pain in my back, hips, thigh etc (I’m sure everyone is aware of how bad the pain can get), I’ve since then lost my job because of not being able to sit for more than 20 minutes without wanting to cry and not being able to drive most days, sleepings hard, walking is hard and everything just seems too much! 

I’ve tried a cocktail of medication but I’ve found that everything I’ve tried either makes me severely depressed or doesn’t help at all. So I’m not taking anything.

So I saw the neuro surgeons yesterday which said they’re going to speak about spinal fusion but there’s only a 50% chance of it working on my back and they’re not too sure as I’m so young. 

I was just wondering if anyone else has tried it or if there’s any tips that maybe I haven’t tried or just any general advice really.

Thank you smile

Samantha

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Samantha,