3 days after anterior THR, thigh is severely burning and swollen

Posted , 6 users are following.

I just had the anteriror approach THR on my right hip. Last year I had my acetabullum crushed in a car accident and it was put back together through ORIF. I was one of the lucky ones that had AVN and had to get a THR. I read up a lot on the procedure but saw nothing about the severe and painful burning I am having. My ball was completely gone, I was always in pain and had to use a wheelchair or walker but this burning is almost comparative to the pain I had pre surgery. I am unable to walk with my walker much because of this pain not to mention the severe swelling I have as well. Is this normal? 

1 like, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Morning Carla I am so sorry to hear you are not getting any relief from your pain yet, I have no medical background so i can't offer any opinion on what you are experiencing except to say it's early days yet given what you've gone through. What has your surgeon said regarding your expectations post surgery. Given time your swelling will reduce and hopefully with gentle exercises you will get your strength back to start walking again and the pain will lesson with time. Not much help I know, but hopefully others will respond to your post who have had similar experiences. Keep posting you are not on your own take care
  • Posted

Hi carla,  I am sorry too to hear of the pain you are having ... are you still in the hospital or already at home?   is the burning pain around the incision and wound ? THR is a big surgery and muscles and tendons are severed - not in such a gentle way either ... if you are up to it an ahve not done so yet, you might want to watch the THR surgery on you tube ... however, you shouldn't have to be in so much pain - what kind of pain killers have theyb give you ? did you mentio it to your surgeon?