Advice for Stopping Cymbalta

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello!

I'll try to make this to the point. I know if you're in the midst of a withdrawal, you don't feel like reading a book!

I successfully stopped Cymbalta cold turkey this past summer (June 2016). I'd been on 60 mg for nearly 6 years, since I was 24.

It helped for the first few years. I'd been put on it for anxiety and slight more swings-nothing major. It still helped the anxiety but started causing more problems. I developed depression, weight gain, acne, headaches, withdrew from friends and family, lost motivation and no energy. I was sleepy all the time.

I decided one day to stop and haven't taken it since. Luckily I am a teacher and was on summer break, because I wouldn't have been able to work the first few days.

Honestly, what helped me the most was praying and staying positive. I was scared because I'd read the stories online about coming off of it.

Day 1: Morning/Day: Not too bad-extreme sweating, severe dizziness, a bad headache

Night: Panic attack, emotional

Day 2: Extreme sweating and dizziness, diarrhea started, no energy, very emotional

Day 3: Less sweating, diarrhea, severe dizziness, no energy

Day 4: Almost no sweating, severe dizziness, diarrhea

Day 5: No sweating, diarrhea better, still very dizzy

**By day 5, I was much better and mainly just dealing with the dizziness

The dizziness took about 1.5-2 weeks to go away completely. It started getting better each day after about day 5. The weird dreams and night terrors started about two weeks after I stopped taking it. That lasted about 2-3 weeks and then stopped. -I noticed I was much more sensitive to allergies and cigarette smoke for about 2 months after stopping and then that went back to normal. I had twitches at night for a couple of weeks as well. I was pretty emotional for about two weeks or so and then back to normal.