Almost 3 weeks post op 2 level lumbar fusion

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, I'm now almost 3 weeks post op and cannot believe the difference. 

I had two prolapsed discs due to DDD, spinal stenosis and a compressed L5 nerve root. I've been undergoing spinal injections and epidurals for 5 years for severe sciatic pain in my left leg. I am 48 and always exercised when I could, after the surgery ( 5 hours) I came home the next day. I was up and walking after 24 hours and after 3 days no longer needed pain relief. 

I woke up in the recovery room with the sciatic pain gone completely and have just been left with a numb little toe and loss of sensation down my left outer calf. 

I sleep better now and can lay on my back. I had a PLIF and 6 screws with two bars, I have a 6 inch incision which has completely healed, I can feel the hardware but it's not painful. . I do everything myself around the house and use the squatting position so as not to bend. I've just started gentle exercises to get my muscles moving and to stop muscle cramps. 

I know everyone is different but the surgeon thought I would have problems due to the amount of pain relief I needed daily to cope, and I don't need any at all now. I'm enjoying building up my walking times and have not needed any walking aids for the last week. It's definitely worth considering if nothing else has helped. 

4 likes, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted