Been told I had IBS, but not so sure?

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this but I don't know if anyone has been having something similar or could help...

I've been having quite a severe pain in my left side for about 8 years now. I'm 21 year old female. I might be wrong but it seemed to have started happening when I began starving myself to lose weight (I don't have an eating disorder, I've never been underweight or anything). It's towards my back area and is a dull/ burning/ stabbing pain that can become very sharp and make me feel sick. I went to the docs about it, they immediately said, having heard me talk for about 3 mins that it was IBS and prescribed me Buscopan which didn't do much. Though I may have IBS, I would have thought the pain wouldn't  just be consentrated to one area? And would happen after I ate? This only seems to happen when I don't eat for a few days, then worsens when I eventually eat something. Also sometimes, sounds weird but if I breathe out on an empty stomach it will make a gurgling sound, which if I press on it, will pop.

Another thing when I don't eat is that I get severe leg pains, EXACTLY like growing pains which keep me up all night. The only time when they've eased is once when my boyfriend offered me a heat pack and that worked! Weird. I did research and thought maybe it's potassium deficiency - which is scary! I know I'm deficient in lots of things, have bendy nails that break and curve, and know that my dietry habits have been so detrimental to my health, I used to be so healthy sad 

Thanks for taking the time to read through that! It's long I know!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted