Bowel problems: IBD (virtually) ruled out, any ideas?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello!

I'm a 20 year-old student and I've been having some bowel issues and was wondering if anyone could suggest what I potentially have. I'll start by giving an overview of my symptoms/story, I'm really sorry if it's long.

So, mid-May, I begin to notice I'm going to the toilet more often than usual - about 5 times per day, more than my usual 2-3. Early-to-mid June I see my GP about it. He orders a CBC and faecal tests. No parasites, liver function tests normal, inflammatory markers (e.g elevated white blood cell counts as well as signs in my faeces) were unremarkable etc. The faecal occult blood test I think was abnormal, and I was borderline anaemic (although I had given blood 5-6 days before).

My GP then referred me to a consultant who I saw earlier this month, and he gave me a full physical check-up. He examined my abdomen (no tenderness/mass to be felt in my abdomen), listened to everything etc. and everything seemed normal. No abnormality in his examination of my rectum. One thing he noticed was a slight heart murmur, but that's another issue that I'm now being checked for.

So he proceeded to book me for a colonoscopy to check everything out, which will be late August - I wish it was sooner, I can't get this all out of my head.

Between seeing my GP and the consultant I had a severe bout of diarrhea (10-12 times/day with a couple of night visits to the toilet) which peaked for about 2 days then went away. Most of my movements during this had a lot of water in them as well as a lot of green or yellow mucous - I'd never had diarrhea like that before! The stools sat in the toilet and looked like green sand. Since recovering from that my bowel movement frequency has been better - down to 2-3 times per day for about 3 weeks now. The stools themselves still vary quite a lot in appearance, but have always been solid and I see red blood very occasionally.