Chronic eye strain & light sensitivity for 3 months; diagnosed with mild exophoria

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, I hope someone could help shed light on this as I feel like this condition has started to rule my life and affect my ability to work..

I am a 25 year old otherwise healthy female. I have been wearing myopic + astigmatism glasses for over 15 years, and I have been using computers & phones many hours a day for over 10 years with no previous problem.

One day 3 months ago while working on my computer, I suddenly felt a little strain on my eyes (between my eyebrows) that's alleviated by looking away from screen, so I didn't think much of it.

However the next day, I found that the strain had become quite persistent-- as soon as I look at any phone / computer screen, I will instantly get pressure in between my eyes, and I started noticing that the pressure also happens when I'm in the presence of light (light sensitivity).

Here is a full list of symptoms:

1. Pressure in between eyebrows, eyeballs, and sometimes even cheekbones that starts almost instantly when:
  • Looking at screens (phones, computers)
  • Looking/in the presence of light (light sensitivity) - I only find relief when it's pitch black
  • Wearing my (myopia & astigmatism) glasses

This pressure is best described as wearing glasses which power/prescription is too strong; except times that by 10 and put that all around your eyeballs

1. Dry eyes (as in, difficulty producing the tears itself)

2. My vision is fine (no double vision) but for a long time (even before these pains started), I do notice that it's difficult to maintain convergence when looking at near objects; it's like my eyes just wants to relax all the time and doesn't like to converge

3. Occasional nausea when walking, especially in places with bright lights (this was never an issue before)