CMC Arthoplasty

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm having the surgery on my right hand day after tomorrow-2/13- and i'm not real happy about not having use of my right hand but that's really neither here nor there. what i really want to know is how long the surgery itself takes. also, i have arthritis in my right shoulder at the base of my neck and i'm kind of concerned about the numbing shot. has anyone had this problem

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

. i just had this done Feb, 4th, hard to type. i had a nerve block for pain. not much pain now, Doc said surgery took 2 hours,

• Posted

I am having left thumb CMC arthroplasty tomorrow. I am right handed, but the left is my worst one (they are both bad). I'm a retired PACU nurse so I am not usually nervous about surgery, but this one is one I am having a little bit of nerves with. I do feel better after reading some of the posts here. I have tried preparing as many things in advance as possible I got my hair permed so I don't have to worry about scaring anyone. I have cooked up a storm and am freezing it in small portions. I have a waterproof cover for casts so I will be able to shower without getting the splint wet.

Any words of wisdom are very much appreciated.

• Posted

Hi I had total knees done in april and sept. this surgery done feb 4th, HARDEST things are typing and eating, surgery was not bad and only took pain pills 3-4 days,

little worried about sharing but want me to send my # do you can call? hard to type

• Posted

Thanks for asking. My surgery went well,only took an hour (was scheduled 1.5 hrs). I had an axillary block that lasted until about 8 pm that evening.

I still need pain medicine (have cut my pills in half). It's been only 3 days though.

• Posted

hi Christine,