Colonoscopy on 27/02 - just need to talk...

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello everyone,

I'm a 24 yo male and for 3-4 months I've been experiencing weird abdominal symptoms.

After finishing my studies at 22, I tried to have a healthier lifestyle, stopped smoking, drank less, eat more fruits and veggies, tried to exercise a bit more ... But back when I was a student I was really unhealthy... Smoking, drinking a lot (students binge drinking...), ate bad foods... This went on for 4-5 years of study...

It all started after strong constipation as a very hard stool with a bit of blood on toilet paper.

After switching from raw toilet paper to baby wipes and preventing constipation the best I could, I haven't seen blood anymore.

I had 6 FIT tests for occult bleeding which came back negative.

Normal blood tests.

I also have sometimes belching / gas or hiccups after eating (but due to stress, although I successfully quit smoking months ago, I just started to smoke again... Not sure if it's related).

Then, about 2 months ago I started to have very strange gurgling, not in a specific spot but around all my bowel. Whether I eat a lot or not does not seem to influence the gurgling. I was scared about skinny and flat stools but it happened just a few times and the other day I had a normal bowel movement, large stool.

After going back to the doctors numerous times and being so scared, I finally have a colonoscopy booked. Given my symptoms and a history of alcohol / poor exercise and smoking, I know I will have an answer soon but, what else than colon cancer could it be ? I don't know what to do, I have no family around me to support me and I had to work in a town with no friends around...

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi