Congenital hypothyroidism

Posted , 2 users are following.

8 month (since 8 days old, has never had steady labs) now on 1-25 mcg one night, and 1 1\2-25 mcg another. They are alternating her synthroid now, because her tsh is too high. She's been super fussy (is only been about a week), and was wondering if it was normal to be alternating.

Also, I've read that synthroid only helps with the t4 hormone. Why if her t4 is in range would they increase/tamper with her dosage for her tsh?

Thank you.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hello Anndra:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA. I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

So you have an 8 month old baby who has Congential Hypothyroidism.  You say the baby has too much T4?

Levo (Synthyroid) is made synthetically and must convert in the thyroid gland to useable T3 called Liothyronine.  This is the hormone needed and used by the body.

If your baby has too much T4 -the baby may not be converting it into useable T3. You will need to talk with the baby's Endocrinologist about this and perhaps change the meds on your baby.

They have other meds, some are Liothyronine (Cytomel) Liotrix (Thyrolar), Armour Thyroid, Thyroid W, Thyroid S.  These are natural ones made from a pig's gland which is almost the same as a humans gland.

So Levo (Synthroid) is not for everyone.  Please ask the doctor if you can try a different thyroid medicine.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi Shelly,

Thank you for your comment!

The last year came back with her t4 in range and her TSH a little too high. I'm still a little new to all of this, so any info is very helpful smile

Does her t4 and t3 relate to her TSH? Does the synthroid?

I've been researching other alternatives (like the pig hormones). Just a little worried about the dosage on those.

I will talk it over with her Dr.

Thanks again,

Anndra

• Posted

Hello Anndra:

The body works like this: