Cytomegalovirus Glandular Fever: My Experience Thus Far

Posted , 1 user is following.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this, being diagnosed with glandular fever on the 8th of February this year. Just thought it might be helpful to share my story, as I have the atypical form rather than the more usual one caused by the Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). Here is a timeline of events:

23rd September 2022: contracted an unspecified winter vomiting bug which put me in hospital over the weekend due to an underlying metabolic condition that requires strict caloric management (I cannot fast or under-fuel, so anything that places normal oral caloric intake at risk past a critical threshold has to be dealt with in hospital with IV glucose and electrolytes). Discharged and recovered completely at home over the next two weeks once able to eat and drink sufficiently by mouth again.

16th October: minor sore throat, tiredness and sniffliness; tested positive for covid. Recovered over the next week with the precautionary help of a weeklong course of Paxlovid. Tested negative by the end of the Paxlovid course, but then tested briefly positive again and felt a mildly grotty for a couple of days before making a full, solid recovery.