Do I have to have a smear test

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, I'm really new to this and any help would be appreciated.

I keep getting sent letters from my GP inviting me to have a smear test. I've had 6 letters come through now.

I've explained to my GP that I was sexually assaulted in the past and find the thought of anyone I don't feel comfortable with distressing, I even find getting the letters distressing (sounds really silly I know)

Just wondering whether smears are compulsory or if they can kick my off the doctors list for not having it done?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Fliss.

The letters go out automatically, to remind you that you are due for a smear. It sounds like you are very overdue, so they may be sending them more frequently.

Maybe you could have a chat with your Doctor? There may be another way to get round your fears. Maybe a sedative? I really don't know.

But it is a very important test to have done, and could save your life in the event of any unusual cells they find.

Please have a chat to your Doc. xx

• Posted

Hello Fliss,