does anyone else take rayos?

Posted , 6 users are following.

greetings,

?I have been fighting with idiopathic urticarial vasculitis for 3 years. It started on my left shin and has now spread to my abdoman, breasts, arms and neck. My dr has me on Rayos, it works sometimes but then a flare up will occur. Has anyone else been put on this med?

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Rayos is Prednisone.

I have urticarial vasculitis and I take prednisone... 75mg per day. 

However I will move on to Retuximab soon and if that doesn't work I will try other autoimmune type drugs.

Hopefully you know the solutions for UV are to be found in immuneology and that this is a very are problem.

Cheers,

Paul

• Posted

Paul,

​I was on an immunosuppresent that made me violently ill. Right now I am taking an anti malaria drug that has shown some promise with the inflamation. However it takes 3-4 months to get to theraputic levels. The raos is only 5mg per day time released it is suppose to help with weight gain and other side effects.

• Posted

Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for your reply.

Yes this is the problem for Vasculitis sufferes  in that different drugs

work differently.

I assume the anti malarial drug you are now using is Plaquinel.

I had a violent allergic type reaction to Plaquinel and stopped taking it.

5 mg a day of Rayos and using Plaquinel indicate that your vasculitis is cureable by much lower dosages of prednisone compared to 75 mg a day and Plaquenil is also a lower down the ladder of strength for treatment of vasculitis than the much stronger immunolgy drugs. 

So you are in a much better situation than chronic sufferers of vasculitis.

Cheers,

Paul.

• Posted

Hi Paul, 

I am surprised you had a raction to Plaquenil. 

What dose are/were  you taking of plaquenil ? 

Rocky

• Posted

Paul