ETD : Don't let the Doctors fobb you off.

Posted , 12 users are following.

I just want to share my experience here in the hope it might help others, as I keep reading how people are suffering from ETD for years, and I could have suffered too if I'd not been so persistent.

I'm a professional musician so my ears are my life. For 10 years, on and off I would get short lived fullness in my ears, a dual pitch between ears, and a weird buzzing, but in a few hours it would stop.

In August it came back and stayed, for 12 weeks. Constant full pressure in my ears, a fluttering and deep loud humming in my right ear, like a car engine outside the window.

My GP gave me an antibiotic spray for an ear infection.

Didn't work.

Thankfully I'm insured with BUPA so had fast access to ENT consultants, however :

ENT number 1 said I had a fungal infection in my ears and prescribed Canesten ear drops.

2 weeks later I visited him again as there was no change, he said, oh it'll go in time.

2 weeks later and 4 weeks not being able to work, I saw ENT no2

He shrugged his shoulders and organised an ear test which I passed fine, and with that in mind he said I just have to live with it ,and gave me some Valium for the fluttering in the right ear.

2 weeks later, and 6 weeks of no work I saw ENT no 3.

He shrugged his shoulders and said it's tinnitus from years of working with music, and that the right ear problems are obviously nothing to do with the left ear problems, and he signed me up for some kind of NHS tinnitus support group, and an MRI scan just in case..

Now desperate, and convinced I had ruined my ears, and wondering what I'll do for a career, I managed to see a foreign ENT professor while on an overseas trip, who took one look up my nose (the first to bother doing so) and told me that was the problem, and to go home and get another ENT to organise a CT scan, and use a fibre optic camera up the nose, and for me to buy and use an "electronic ear popper".