Hashimoto

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello I have 33 newly told I have Hashimoto and have a goitre and swollen glands! I have had blood work ultra sound x Ray contrast cat scan and a bio opsey . I meet with my ent next week to set a date to take out my whole thryiod .i am so scared about the pain after the surgery and how fast you heal . I am not good with taking pain killers and I have had a swollen throat for a months now and only eating soups anything different I eat feels like it gets stuck in my throat ! Have also been told I have farangitis and in amoIcillin for it .

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Dang it's so horrid this thyroid stuff... I have now been prescribed 20mg of methimazole to get my numbers normal so I can have the surgery to remove whole thyroid.  I already have the thyroid replacement RX ..Levothyroxine 88 mcg.  Which I have been promised will not have me gain any weight.  I am a non believer and am plunging ahead into another abyss as this abyss is so rotten the next one I pray isn't worse and it's the only shot I have left.  

I don't think there should be a lot of pain. I hope I am right for your sake.  I don't do well on pain killers at all they make me hallucinate.  So scared tho that I haven't started the meth as that high a dose I did before with disastrous results...found myself under my bed with little or nothing on..no idea how long I'd been there...went to get blood drawn and I was "normal".  How can not being human be normal?!

i wish the best for you and myself.

• Posted

Hi

Don't worry too much about the op. It's not that painful. I had right half of thyroid removed Feb 2015 because of nodules. Not cancerous but couldn't tell until removed. Out of hospital within 24 hours and only took a few paracetamol for pain. I now just have a fine scar.