Help with cellulitis-GP's refuse to see me due to pandemic

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have just completed a 2 week course of Flucloxacillin for cellulitis - diagnosed by online consult with photos. I have no knowledge of cellulitis. Further online consult with GP - infection will definitely be gone after 2 weeks, will just be inflammation left in skin. Has prescribed more antibiotics to take if something gets worse. I asked if he could look at it and he refused. Redness within skin has gone but left with rough red patches on surface of skin.

What can i expect? I have never had any pain just itchiness. Have been using cetraben cream all the way through. Also get clear fluid leaking a little towards end of the day - stops overnight.

Does any of this sound normal? Advice to reduce inflammation and stop fluid? Any help please

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Same here went through the photo thing and telephone consultation prescribed some cream. a week later when both legs had started shedding dead skin and become infected we were prescribed a course of antibiotics. a fortnight later when asked for another photo we were sent to A & E at local hospital who prescribed another dose of antibiotics. and a trip to district nurse who said things are going on ok and to come back next week. week later different nurse who said cover with bandages and use cream. What a good idea covered up overnight. changed the bandages next morning and all the skin platelets came away with bandages making them sore and now they are still leaking 6 weeks on, dont know if what we are doing is correct so any advise on this will be eagerly watched for.

• Posted