Hypothyroidism, Celiac and/ or Chrones

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I'm still a relative newbie to the condition Hypothyroidism. I'm currently taking 100mg having started on 50mg.

I'm aware ( now) that certain foods are "advised" to be avoided, however I have most recently been informed that I *may also have either Coeliac - maybe Chrones ( awaiting gastro appointment = expecting endoscopy )

Had anyone else here had the did try complications of food intolerance on top of their hypo diagnosis?

I feel like I've been hit by a runaway train and I'm struggling with the reality of what's to come.

My son is confirmed 100% Coeliac and my elder sister had Chrones= we are having to piece together a medical history ourselves

I'm not looking for sympathy or HAD DIETS= they are not welcomed. Only info from folks with a food intolerance on top of Hypo please.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

YES!!! Stomach problems often Paracelsus thyroid disease. When you get the thyroid condition managed, 90% of the food sensitivities go away. There are hundreds of posts here on this. However, gluten, in any quantities should be avoided.
  • Posted

Hi again Blue, also, a lot of people have posted difficulties taking levo because it seems to cause stomach problems.
  • Posted

Hi blue,

I have had hashimotos since I was six (21 now) and have had food intolerances since I was born. I haven't gotten a clear diagnosis yet for the food intolerances. I had a blood test for celiac but that was all the gastro dr. did. I get extremely bad stomach pains to the point where i can't stand up straight and it will wake me up if I'm sleeping. I get really shaky and light headed then once that happened I will either pass out, throw up, or have really bad diarrhea. I can't pinpoint what foods cause this to happen still so I don't know what to avoid. Im probably going to go to an allergist soon to see if they can find it.