I have a terrible sleep cycle and I don't know what to do anymore.

Posted , 7 users are following.

For the past two years my sleep cycle has gone more and more out of sync. I wake up usually one hour after I initially fall asleep and then about every 45-75 min thereafter, unless I stay awake for an extended period of time, ( like 20+ hours ). I have tried changing everything about it on several occasions. I have a dog that sheds. For the last year I did not even allow her in my room. At first because I was thinking that her hair was causing my sleep problems. That's not the case though since it has been a year and I still wake up several times in the night. I was a mechanic up until about 8 months ago, and I work out every other day, so I know it is not a build up of energy. The problems started well before I stopped my job. I had a nasal polyp removal done about 11 months ago. Still the problem was not solved. I have tried sleeping during the day and night and there is just about no difference. I was recently in a relationship where we were sleeping together every night. Symptoms persisted before, during, and after. I have tried two sleeping drugs, over the counter, whose names have now slipped my mind because I needed to know them, go figure. Pressure points, massaged for relaxation, reading, and TV, all do not help or help. I drink a lot of soda. However, I just started it again about two months ago. I went almost 3 months on nothing but water, milk, and juice. Mostly grape and orange. I am also a smoker. I enjoy smoking but I did quit for 3 months about 6 months ago just to check if that was my problem. Again no difference. I feel like I have checked everything in my life aside from going to a doctor and getting prescription drugs, which I don't want for some unknown fear that I have of them. If anyone reads this and thinks of something that could lead to me actually getting a full nights sleep without staying up for 20+ hours straight every day please let me