I've applied for SSI or ssdi

Posted , 3 users are following.

i had applied for disablity, they said i didnt work enough and that my husband makes too much for the other. but i did qualify. but i cant get a check because of his income. where or who do i turn to for help? i do have an attorney, whom i havent heard from yet. at this point im lost and dont know what to do. i cant go back to work , im still waiting for two moresurgeries on lower back and neck.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

This forum is based in the UK and your question is about disability is US so i'm afraid i can't advise you with anything because i have no knowledge with anything on the other side of the pond.

• Posted

Hi Denise.

sorry to jump in on your reply, i have the exact same problem in uk. Although i now have PIP there is no other help or financial support for me due to my partner working. is there something i have not done correctly that you could advise me on.

Thank you.

• Posted

Hi.

i have just come across your question . did you get your situation solved? I have the exact same problem. I Couldn't get any help anywhere. I am in uk so i know its slightly different. I understand your situation its so frustrating.

• Posted

Your situation is very different to Sarah's because they're not living in the UK. SSI or SSDI are nothing to do with UC benefits, they're US benefits.

Universal Credit (UC) has replaced all the old legacy benefits such as Income Related ESA/JSA, Income Support and tax credits. You will need to claim this as a couple if you live together. Entitlement will be based on your joint circumstances. If you have savings/capital of more than £16,000 you're excluded from claiming.