Is there any reason I should be taking birth control?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I recently found out I had PCOS, so I was prescribed birth control. But I need to think about why I'm taking this drug. I can't think of any reason I should be using it - if there's no reason, then I should stop taking it. I'm not experiencing any symptoms of excess androgen beside amenorrhea. So the only thing the birth control does is give me periods. That is a bad thing. Are there any other long-term effects of hormone imbalance that I should be worried about?

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

oop, was just asking about this elsewhere and someone told me buildup of uterine lining may lead to heart problems or endometrial cancer. so that's a first reason i got, can't figure out how to edit my post so i'll post if any more come along!
  • Posted

I'm not a doctor, I'm just a fellow PCOS sufferer. I don't know how this syndrome manifests itself in your case. I've struggled with hirsutism, weight gain/water retention (I also have a Hashimoto's thyroiditis), hairloss... but my hormone levels have always been normal and I've always had regular periods. My right ovary is more affected and my left ovulates.

Having given you a short overview of my state, now I can say that I have always firmly refused to be put on birth control to deal with my PCOS even though every single doctor (from GPs, gynaecologists to endocrinlogists) has suggested it - until I went to a yearly gyneco. check-up few weeks ago.

I deal with it by watching my diet (I went from a classis western omnivore to a vegan, and now eat mostly raw with a lot of fresh homemade juices) and exercising.

I've seen immense improvement, not on all fronts, but on most. I guess it takes time for symptomes like hirsutism to lessen.