Just discovered HS

Posted , 4 users are following.

I just found out what HS is and I'm very concerned that I might have it. Though I have the symptoms I just really don't want to have to deal with something like this for the rest of my life. I got my first abscess under my arm a while ago when I was maybe 15 and never had a problem until last year. I have one that I had since maybe Feburary and it's not fully healed. It doesn't hurt unless I press on it hard and it's just not sealed. I figured it was just an ingrown hair that never got released I guess. The last one I got was in May, it was huge and took a long time to heal. My doctor said it was just a boil and it'll drain itself and it did but it took about a month for it to fully heal but it's scarred. Now I feel two abscess near each other. I don't know if this is HS or maybe I should really just stop shaving. If this is HS can I just continue what I usually do and let them pop on their own or should I go consult a doctor? I don't know if HS gets worse if you don't see a doctor cuz for all the treatments listed for HS it's just treated like a normal cyst would be.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to hear that you are suffering with HS. The advice on here Jordan is to get it seen to whilst it's in the early stages to prevent it going into the later stages when it could affect different areas. Get yourself referred to a dermatologist so that you can start treatment asap. I've suffered with this for 45 years but at least now you have places like here where you can get loads of support and advice. I wish you luck !! x

• Posted

Jordan, the advice Anne has given you is very sound; get this under control while it's still in a fairly early stage, it will only get worse if you don't. You need your doctor to give you a course of antibiotics, possibly in conjunction with a short course of steroids (prednisolone), and a referral to a dermatologist.

• Posted