Long Term Ankle Injury

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello good people of patient.info,

I've been battling an injured ankle for the past 9 months. I just want to note I haven't had it examied as I don't have health insurance. It wasn't rolled but slammed down with a lot of force sending shock through the whole foot. What's so weird about it is the pain will go away relatively quickly. I've continued skateboarding since (I know I know, terrible idea. I literally don't think I can stop, it's the only thing keeping me sane). Every few times I skate I'll plant my foot to hard in the wrong way and get that same shooting pain through my foot, yet I can walk it off within a few minutes and be mostly fine. It does get sore sometimes but right now I can rotate it completely without any pain, just a slight popping. I stretch it a lot and I just ordered some collagen peptides.  I eat pretty damn healthy most of the time, fruits, veggies pasture-raised meats and eggs. What else can I do to speed up recovery. I would love any insight from someone who's been a similar situation. I don't think this is considered a sprain so I don't even know where to begin to research. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

After 9 months you have to consider whether you've caused structural damage.if so, it could become an increasing problem and maybe even a permanent issue in later life, as I have discovered. So pawn your skateboard and invest in an Xray
    • Posted

It's definitely not a bone problem. So an mri is what's in order and sadly pawning off ten skateboards wouldn't be enough
  • Posted

I hsd a long term ankle joint damage as the result of a fall that over years turned arthritic. The fact is you need to know what the problem is if you are going to try treating it.
  • Posted

You need toknow exactly what itis and stop self diagnosing

I had an ankle problem years ago, and it now has osteoarthritis in that ankle

Get it seen to

Eileen