Need help

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey guys. I'm new to this and have just joined after searching the internet for help.

I got diganosed at the age of 14 (I am now 23) but started having horrible periods two years ago, after losing 6 stone in weight. Being on more times than I am off. One lasting 6 months! I have been given mef acid tablets to stop the bleeding but as soon as I finish taking them my period starts again. I came off birth control last January (after being advice too by the nurse) to let my body/horomones go back to normal and I am now having two periods a months which isn't ideal but it is better than having month long periods. My main reason behind this is to ask how women cope with the extra hair growth as since coming off birth control my hair on my chin, lip, eyebrow, breast, stomach etc is growing quickly and thicker and is really getting me down I feel so unwomanly and feel i can't wear my hair up, i pluck daily and wax & use hair removal cream to keep on top of it but its really just getting me down and would love to hear your tips and tricks and to just talk to other women who suffer so I know i'm not alone!  

1 like, 20 replies

20 Replies

• Posted

Hi there, sorry to hear you're having problems with it. I've had a few periods like that where it's lasted for ages and then I've had some where it's light and don't have them again for months. That Mef acid you're talking about is more likely to cause your period to last longer as it slows the bleeding it doesn't stop it. They gave me it for when I had an extremely heavy flow to help with that.

As for the hair I'm actually looking for tips too, I've looked up laser treatment and everything. I know there's a cream that the doctor can give you to stop any further hair growing if that helps, unfortunately it doesn't stop the hair you already have growing. I have to ask how did you manage to lose 6 stone I have to lose the same amount yet can't seem to budge it, congrats on that. Laura x