Newly suffering from acute pancreatitis

Posted , 5 users are following.

I was diagnosed on Sunday with acute pancreatitis & I have been in unbearable pain since. Can anyone offer any pain relief advice? My pain meds -dillaudid- only work for an hour or so....my diet consists of clear liquids per Dr and pain meds...I'm feeling very weak and exhausted and defeated! I had gastric sleeve surgery on 8/4 and am afraid that as a result of that surgery set myself up for this condition which from what I read can be life altering and possibly life threatening. I'm new to this and very scared...any advice would be awesome!!!

Thank you!!!

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi sorry to hear of your condition   my husband had acute pancreatitis and he was a very strong, strapping fellow and he said the pain was unbelievable!  If you facebook you might want to join a group called Pancreatitis Pals...this group knows everything there is to know about this disease..its for ppl with pancreatitis and their family (me)..they can answer all your questions and more    good luck
  • Posted

Hi, are you still in the hospital or have you been released? I recently had the same thing and was in the hospital for 8 days. I had the med you are taking while in the hosital and they gave me Percocet when released. It is not as strong but lasts a lot longer. I've been out 2.5 weeks and still having lots of pain, and not sure when it will go away?   Docs have also been reluctnt to give me more meds. I guess they think I'm taking because I like them and don't really need them, but everytime I eat I have pain.   Sounds like you are watching what you eat and still on liquid diet so I would hope it begins to clear up and the pain should not be as bad soon.  Good luck to you, I certainly can understand how you feel and wish there was an easy answer.    
  • Posted