Okay to have a couple drinks on tramadol?

Posted , 10 users are following.

Obviously, I know you're never supposed to mix medications and alcohol, and I never do.

I'm on 150mg of tramadol per day for chronic pain. Been taking it for several months.

I have a social event next week and of course there will be alcohol. Do you think 1 or 2 glasses of wine would be safe to drink considering my dosage? I could call my doc or a pharmacist, but I already know they would legally have to say it's not safe to drink on any medication. 

Just asking for opinions/advice here. Thanks!

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Well I'm no doctor but have had experience drinking while on Tramadol.  It's fine, especially if you're just having 1 or 2 glasses of wine.  I drink a lot more.  My advice, if you're worried about it, is to not take your full 150mg that day, maybe just take 50 in the morning.  Otherwise you might get overly tired.
    • Posted

Thanks for the reply. I used to be a heavy drinker but quit about 4 months ago to lose weight. I haven't had a drop of alcohol since. Wasn't sure about how it mixed with the tramadol either. I guess I will have a couple and only take my half dose that morning. Thanks again!
  • Posted

If you can limit yourself to this proposed 1 or 2 drinks, I'd say (from experience), no worries. But I didn't do that. I began drinking nightly beginning last spring and my system became so toxic, that it caused the worst symptoms I've ever experienced. Alcohol increases the chances of Tramadol addiction. And because of that I experienced withdrawal symptoms only hours after my last dose. I am now Tramadol free for two weeks, cold turkey style. And I only drink in moderation either beer or wine only, no hard liquor. If you can stick to the plan of only 1 or 2 drinks, you should be okay. But try to skip your evening dose before your social event that night. Best wishes.
    • Posted