Pain on LEFT side following appendectomy

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, Wonder if anyone has any advice. I had my appendix out just over 3 months ago. Woke up in recovery with the pain gone on right as they'd removed appendix but instead in my left side where my scar is. I'm still in agony over three months later. Work is a real struggle as I'm a teacher by the end of the day can barely walk. I am only twenty eight years old. I've had an ultra sound and they ruled out a hernia and hematoma also called a blood clot. It has been far worse than the appendix pain! It's really affecting my work but I've still being going to work full time but sometimes it bends me over double with pain. Any advice would be very much appreciated. 

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sophie22873, I really feel for you. Are you in the U.K.? I think they need to do a CT scan of your whole abdomen; an ultrasound doesn't show up as much as a CT does. Don't give up, as you said yourself, you are kind of worse off than you you before!

If possible, try to take someone with you to the GP, and to any outpatient appointments, but I know that's not always possible. Maybe start to keep a little notebook of what triggers the pain, or notes in the 'notes' section of your mobile. Make sure your headteacher and head of department know what you're going through, so that if you needed to perhaps be an inpatient for a day, they'll have the heads up.

Good luck with everything; I'm rooting for you wink

• Posted

Thanks FiFi1963! That's really kind of you. Thanks so much. Yes I'm in the UK. I've got an outpatient hospital appointment. In two weeks time so will suggest a CT scan. My headteacher is aware but people just don't realise the daily struggle do they. I always take my husband and is pretty good. He does ask questions! It's just frustrating. I'm sure I'll get there eventually.

Thanks so much!

• Posted