Pityriasis Rosea caused by hep b vaccine?

Posted , 7 users are following.

i just wanna vent and get some advice.

so about 2 months ago i noticed that large round patch on my upper right thigh.. it was dry and scaly but i thought it was nothing major, maybe i just needed to lotion up more.. ok well it faded a bit and then i began to get smaller spots all over both of my thighs but these spots arent the same texture as the original larger spot. now its 2 months later and i have broken out all over my body except my back and my face.I went  to the Dr's today & i was told it was Pityriasis Rosea. It burns & itches & gets irritated when i sweat. i am now so insecure about my skin as i have it all over my arms, thighs,stomach and now my chest and seems to be reaching my neck. 

.. i work in the dental field &  i was advised to get the hepatitis B vaccine, so i did just that.  the hepatitis B vaccine is a series of 3 doses within an 8 month period. i began to notice these spots right between the 2nd and 3rd doses. my question is could this be the cause of my Pityriasis Rosea? My doctor told me that this is caused by a virus and your body reacts by breaking out so i was thinking that it could be the vaccine since its a weaker form of the virus???? anybody thin so?

I read online that sun tanning will help get rid of these spots.. well im from new york and its mid october so thats not really an option.. anything else i can do to speed this up?

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I'm sorry to hear that you have pityriasis rosea. It's an awful skin condition. 

I read a lot of research paper about PR and sadly they don't know the cause. At one point they believed it could be from a type of herpes virus but there was no proof.