Post Stroke complications

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am now 7 years post stroke, having had several TIA's and taking Warfarin. In recent weeks I have noticed a numbness in my left foot and leg and I am getting more confused. This morning I can't remember what day it is, are we going shopping, hospital for appointment etc. Has anybody else experienced this?  is it another TIA? 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Pauline 59158

I am not a doctor but you should see one quickly. It might be more serious than what you think.

Fayçal

• Posted

Hello pauline. I am 6 weeks after my first stroke and hopefully my last.Since it happened i have no memory for the last few years but can remember things from my childhood like it was yesterday.When i go shopping i have to take a list as i forget what i've gone for..The doctor told me that my memory may or may not come back but has booked me in for some group meetings with past sufferers who pass on tips of how they survive with short term memory.I am 64 and retired so it isn't as if i have to go out to work every day.Even though it was very scary at first i am now doing a lot more than i could of a few weeks ago and hopefully with the help of the nhs i will have a long and enjoyable life.

• Posted

Thanks Malcolm, sorry it's taken a while to answer, but we've had lots on our mind at the moments. I am 84 and feel the NHS somewhat ignores my generation, with regard to life expectancy. I tried getting on a group run by the local hospitals stroke unit, but they turned me down, I suspect on age.

The local volunteer groups are very superficial, more interested in playing games than talking or sharing experiences and lessons learned.

I have always been very sporty, playing badminton and tennis and more recently indoor bowls. However due to recent issues have had to give up even that. My short term memory is poor, ask me about my childhood I can tell you in detail.