Ramipril

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

Hope every one is well..

I have been on ramipril for almost 4 years. Started on a low dose and have been on 10mg since.

About six months ago i started experiencing strange sensations off falling feeling and as though i was walking round with concrete boots on. I have thought about everything except my bp. I work in a hospital and she suggested she took my bp . I was stunned to see my bp come up as 90/50. So i took it through out the day and it pretty much stayed the same.

I imediately phone gp to see if i could get a appointment in next few days to be told 2 weeks. I have tried to stick it out but i just felt awful and decided to stop taking ramipril.. i was worried about side effects. Day 3 and tbh i have never felt better . I have checked bp and its gone up to 118/60..

Has any one else had same as me and i know stopping taking 10mg isnt advisable but did any one see there bp go high again ?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Tinkestral,

I have been on Ramipril 10mg for a long time as an alternative to coming off Bendrofloumethiazade? (I think that is how it is spelt!) but it was not successful in controlling my BP so I was started on a 2-Drug combination trial. After several failed attempts over the past six months I am now on Candesartin 12mg and my BP has dropped to something close to yours. The dosage started at 2mg and rose to 16mg which proved to be too much so it was lowered to 12mg and I think that perhaps it may need to go down to 10mg but I have to take my BP 4 times a day and average out three readings and the lowest recorded BP was 94/50. You are right about the low BP it hit me too like if I was to get up too quickly the whole room went round and round and I was unstable on my feet.