Recovery Period - should I apply for STD benefits

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am going in for my initial consultation for cataract surgery possibly both eyes, My company offers excellent short term disability (STD) benefits if expected time off is more than 7 days. I work in IT so mostly online on the computer. How much recovery time should I be looking at considering I may have to operate both eyes?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I took two days off. The day of the surgery, and the next day when I had a follow-up exam. Worked as per usual after that with no difficulties.

I'm also on the computer all day. Of course, our eyes and our recoveries may differ.

• Posted

I think in most cases you should get much of your vision back the same day as the surgery. Vision may be a little blurry the next day and the eye may be sensitive to light. An eye exam is normally done 24 hours after surgery. Wearing dark glasses the day of the surgery and possibly the next day may be helpful. It may take as long as 3-5 weeks for the surgery to have full impact on your vision, but in most cases you should have functional vision in a couple of days. About the only after care required is to wear an eye protective patch at nights for the first week. And there will be a need for eye drops 4 times a day for the first week and once a day for another two weeks. The exact drop treatment varies from surgeon to surgeon. There should be no need to take off more than 2-3 days as long as you are able to work with vision in one eye, and somewhat less than good vision in the operated eye.