Results today

Posted , 3 users are following.

Once again my thyroid blood tests have come back normal. Told over the phone that B12 was high ( I get injections ever 3 months) and my ferritin level was borderline. I was not tested for T3 or T4. Can anyone suggest what my next step should be.  Thank you

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hello Anne:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

So I am assuming the doctor tested your TSH level.  You said it was normal, which is good except not testing for T 3 level and your T4 level makes it hard to tell if there is a problem.

What symptoms do you have?  Are you on replacement hormone?  It would help to know this.

Shelly

• Posted

Hello Shelly, I had a partial thyroidectectomy about 6 years ago. I am on no medication at all. Over the years I have complained of serious tiredness, putting on weight, feeling so cold with my fingers going numb, in total feeling so bad I can't be bothered doing anything. About 3 years I had my first set of bloods checked, thyroid tests came back normal but B12 was low so I was put on injections every 3 months. This year my tiredness seems to have good worse. My eyes have got very sensitive to bright lights and I have developed vitilligo.I have also gone up 2 dress sizes. There is a history of auto immune in my family with one son with Addisons and another with Crohnes. I also have IBS and vertigo. Sounds as if I am a mess when I write it all down but the symptom that affects me the most is  feeling so cold all the time. I would appreciate any advice you could give me.
    • Posted

Hello Anne:

Thanks for the information you provided.  I do talk to many on here and it helps to know a bit of your medical conditions.

Since you had a partial removal of the thyroid gland you may not be making enough T3 for your body. The thyroid makes 4 hormones T1 to T4.