Rheumatoid arthritis and Hashimoto's Auto immune Hypothyroidism

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, I am feeling that I should self isolate for the 12 week period, as I am treated with methotrexate, which lowers my immunity. I work as a social worker for older people and am concerned about the risk of spreading the virus. I am planning to work from home - do you agree this is a sensible plan. I am conflicted as I also want to be working to support my team.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

the spread of this virus is appalling so everyone should stay home!

• Posted

Yes, it's a good plan. People who take methotrexate, thus compromising their immune systems, are in the 'at risk' group and therefore should be self-isolating, or if they have go out, social distancing.

• Posted

I am a Social Work team leader in an Adult and Older People Team. I am on 20mg Methotrexate and 50mg Etanercept and therefore in the at risk category. I understand totally the dilemma of working from home but would advise it's the correct thing to do. I have been working from home since 17th March. It has been challenging and also very lonely due to the usual highly interactive style of our jobs - now reduced to laptop and telephone interactions!. BUT it is what I know I have to do to try and limit my risk of infection and I'm making the best of a tricky situation. I hope you are well and have made the right decision for you.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!