Safe application, do you wear gloves?!

Posted , 11 users are following.

Now that I'm applying the clob properly ie massaging it in for 90 seconds, it occurs to me to ask whether massaging it in with my finger will cause problems ie through absorption through fingers?  Do you wear a finger stall or a glove or something?!  Or is that just too weird!  Best wishes, Jo

0 likes, 36 replies

36 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Not a daft question I wonder that too. I always obviously wash before and after but do wonder if that is enough.
  • Posted

That's a good question jo, I am new to this but I too have wondered if the steroid is absorbed into fingers when rubbing in for for any length of time before washing hands and if it leaves any effect. Maybe long time users can tell us if there has been any adverse effects on fingers after regular use. I have thought about those disposable lightweight gloves but I think it could make the steroid more dificult to manage.
  • Posted

I want to know too!  I have been worried about it and wash my hands extensively afterwards.
  • Posted

hi Jo,when i worked in social sevices,we were not allowed to apply steroid cream without gloves on,to our patients,then a few months later we were told NOT to apply it at all,as it thins the skin,Not sure if this still stands as i`ve not worked for 17 years,and policies change all the time as does the steroids strength
  • Posted

I just assumed washing afterward took care of any left on your hands.... yes that is good question.  Dr. G says to rub in for 90 sec...do you rub 90 sec in each place ?  I have at least 6 areas.  
  • Posted

I've been applying it since 2009 and my finger is just fine. Wish I could say the same for where I'm applying it!
    • Posted

Good answer, Deb. I've seen a chart of different absorption levels of topical steroids depending on the body part.

Eyelids 30%

Face 7%

Armpits 4%

Forearms1%

Palms 1%

Soles of feet .05%

Genitals 30%